How Do You De-stress?

Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 8.04.47 PM.png

 

To answer the question “How do you de-stress?”, I’m going to use an excerpt from my soon-to-be-published Forbes article (I’ll post the full article when it’s out). When thinking about mindfulness and de-stressing techniques, I always turn to improv (the picture above is of me and Dave Collins performing for our show “Jackson Soup”). Happy reading!

 

“In my case, I adore improv. I find it thrilling to explore different characters, and be someone I’ve never been, nor ever will be, in real life. It also increases my listening skills and allows me to connect with others on stage. This helps me be a better and diverse communicator at work, adjusting to different people’s styles. On the stage, you have to react, to make a decision. Similarly, if you want to be CEO, you’ll have to improvise and respond under pressure. Improv requires individuals to collaborate with one another, to let go of their judgment, and to become better listeners.”

Leave a Reply

