Steve Jobs: It Takes Eight Years to Make A Difference

This seems  to be an age of jump, jump, jump to the next thing. It’s great to get diverse experiences.  But understand that at some point, to deliver excellence, you’ve got to focus and drill down in a core area.  Steve Jobs tells us:

“Fortunately, my training has been in doing things that take a long time. You know, I was at Apple 10 years. I would have preferred to be there the rest of my life. So I’m a long-term kind of person. I have been trained to think in units of time that are measured in several years. With what I’ve chosen to do with my life, you know, even a small thing takes a few years. To do anything of magnitude takes at least five years, more likely seven or eight. Rightly or wrongly, that’s how I think.”

Steve Jobs (1955-2011) is best known as the co-founder of Apple, which pioneered the personal computer, and is known also for the iPod and the iPhone.  He was a co-founder and chief executive of Pixar Animation Studios.  Jobs married Laurene Powell in 1991, and they had three children together; Jobs also had a daughter from a previous relationship.  Jobs is frequently referred to as a visionary, and is highly regarded for his foresight and innovation.  He is listed on 342 patents.

Leave a Reply

